Thread: Flanking

Flanking

I'm new to the game and have a 2 part question on flanking the enemies. By flanking, I'm assuming that means I need to get around their cover while still remaining in cover myself. Does that mean its better to split my team up to try to gain an advantage on their position, or is it better to keep the team closer together and move them as a whole group. Also does the flanking strategy change when you get to higher difficulty settings. Thanks in advance.

It's a little complicated, every situation is different. In gaming terms, flanking is when you compromise your enemy's cover. You don't have to be in cover yourself, just be opposite their cover. To know you have an enemy flanked, their cover shield turns yellow, as will yours if you're flanked.

For a beginner, I'd recommend you try out flanking tactics yourself, primarily making use of the assault's run and gun perk, or the support's sprinter perk. These are the easiest shots you'll get at flanking the computer near the start of a game on normal.

You will have to change your flanking tactics, and all your tactics in general to make the leap successfully to classic, and even more drastically when switching to impossible if you choose to go that far. Every difficulty level has a steep learning curve and little tricks that help.

A final note on flanking, be very careful. A lot of areas in the game are "bugged" and where flanks seem very obvious, sometimes they're not recorded as such even if you're directly beside an alien along the same wall.

Play the game for a while on Ironman no matter how depressing it feels to lose important squad members, and you'll start to learn and adapt very quickly.

Op,

here's a quick guide for yeh. It should give you the basis's of flanking and how to do it. It does not change regardless of level although.
    Last edited by shorn; 05-09-2013 at 11:57 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Cruxis View Post