Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The hardest moral choice *Spoilers*

The hardest moral choice *Spoilers*

-SPOILER WARNING-

Bioshock fans are very familiar with the moral choice element of the games - I think for a lot of us it adds another dimension to why we love the game so much. It's philosophically edgy, not just a game. The moral choices really make the game for me. My degree is in psychology and philosophy (mainly ethics); morality has always fascinated me. So, I take the choices in the games pretty seriously.

Obviously, the choices in BS were straightforward - they didn't really require much thought. You were either going to harvest or not harvest. I was really hoping that BS2 would raise the standard. At first, I was a bit disappointed.

A warning: I am now going to recount my experience playing specific parts of BS2. Do not read if you do not want to spoil important parts of the game.

Sure, when I finished the Grace plot I faced a new kind of choice. Not the "to harvest or not to harvest an innocent, little girl who's done nothing to me for reward" kind of no-brainer. Instead, it's a "to kill or not to kill a vindictive cow, who's been trying to kill me for the last half hour, for no reason except revenge and maybe to prevent her from making my life difficult in the future" kind of choice. Granted, it's a new choice, but it didn't take much thought. No reason to kill her, so I just let her slide. I didn't think there was much in that choice, so I was a bit unimpressed.